oDAO Membership Interest

Hello everyone, I’d like to submit my interest in joining the oDAO to the community and the existing members.

Rather than submitting my interest privately, I believe it’s best to “apply” publicly so this can be a starting point for future discussions on oDAO member qualifications. Therefore, I’m formatting this as a Q&A – if you have any other questions you think oDAO members should answer, please post them!

What is your history of involvement with Rocket Pool?

While I was following the project for a while, I “officially” joined the community in early 2021 to participate in the protocol’s final beta testing. I’ve been a node operator since launch and even made a (minor) contribution to the documentation. Most of my contributions, however, are to tokenomics research and governance initiatives. I pushed for the reintroduction of RPIPs and authored most of the existing ones, including RPIP-4 (snapshot voting). And, of course, everyone from #trading will recognize me, too.

On the professional side, I am the founder of Bamboo Financial Technologies, which will soon be launching a Rocket Pool-based investment fund as our flagship product. Also, as a founding member and admin of the Node Operator Association, I’m working with the community to create an open and decentralized staking group to certify reliable node operators and connect them to new opportunities.

What do you see as the oDAO’s role in the protocol?

I’ve written extensively about the oDAO in this post and in Part 4 of my RP Research Series.

As the protocol is designed today, the oDAO is a critical security feature which must act conservatively and carefully. I support any sufficiently safe changes to the protocol which can reduce the oDAO’s role, as it is a centralizing force, but I expect the oDAO will continue to be a crucial element of RP for some time.