RPIP-31 - RPL Withdrawal Address

This is a discussion thread for RPIP-31.

A proposal to add an additional withdrawal address that is the target for RPL bond withdrawals and RPL reward claims. Essentially there will be two withdrawal addresses: one for ETH; and one for RPL. The RPL withdrawal address will default to the ETH withdrawal address.

8 Likes

Great stuff, thanks @kane!

As a node operator, I MUST be able to confirm the RPL withdrawal address from the new target address before it takes effect, to ensure it is the correct address

Could this be an optional feature? Otherwise it adds an extra transaction for automated workflows like Constellation:

tx 1) Deploy node
tx 2) Set RPL withdrawal address to external contract
tx 3) Call external contract to request verification

Would be nice to remove step 3 via e.g. a parameter skipConfirm as true in step 2.

This is also the case for setting the current “primary” withdrawal address and it would be a nice little optimization to add in there, too. I don’t think this is really a security issue since the user would explicitly be requesting to skip confirmation. Another option for the sake of extra safety might be to just allow skipping confirmation on nodes with no minipools.

Yep, the intent was that it will be optional just like it currently is with the standard withdrawal address with the confirm argument.

The wording is “I MUST be able to confirm” not “I MUST confirm”. If you think that’s ambiguous, we can update the wording.

Makes sense! Thanks for clarifying. I was reading fast and didn’t notice those two little words that make all the difference :slight_smile:

1 Like

Any chance this code will work for the update? [Feature] Enable Node's Withdrawal Address to Withdraw RPL by mryamz · Pull Request #282 · rocket-pool/rocketpool · GitHub

It currently passes all existing tests and works within our own integration with RocketPool